PDA

View Full Version : Erie, PA

dgb
Jun-04-2005, 5:30pm
I'm a beginner and looking for some folks to play with--old time, gospel, classical, folk, whatever. Anyone in the Erie-Edinboro-Meadville area?

Diana

aimee
Jun-06-2005, 9:11am
Hi Diana,

There's our local bluegrass fest in Mayville NY to be held Father's day weekend, not far from Erie on beautiful Chautauqua lake. If the weather is fine, jammin's held down by the lake right under the willows. Last year was kinda cold.

aimee

dgb
Jun-06-2005, 11:58am
Hi aimee,

Thanks--I'll check that out. What I'm really hoping for is to find a local (or semi-local) group which either gets together or is willing to get together on a regular basis. The people at the local music store didn't know of anyone, but surely there are some other adults in Erie who jam, or want to??? I'm just starting to learn some old time tunes on my own and realize how much better it would be with others.

Diana

aimee
Jun-06-2005, 12:45pm
Why not pm me & maybe I could make the trek to Erie some weekday evening? I can play some tunes in the genres you've selected, plus backup almost anything with open guitar chords, but I don't get much fancier than that.

schaef0
Jun-07-2005, 12:05pm
i'm from pittsburgh... but afraid i'm not up to jammin' level http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif we'll see if my confidence boosts

dgb
Jun-07-2005, 2:35pm
aimee, I tried to pm you, but not sure it went through, so I'll try again. schaef0, I'm not up to jamming level either, but there's only one way to get there! Diana

Mark Liuzzo
Jun-07-2005, 4:36pm
Every Thursday evening, Doo-Dah's Tavern in Busti, NY (2 mi south of Jamestown on the PA line) has an open bluegrass jam. #This is attended by a good mix of regulars and semi-regulars from all around SW NY and NW PA. 716.488.1839.

If you stop in on 6/16, you'll see many familiar faces at Mayville that weekend - - a good way to develop contacts.

aimee
Jun-08-2005, 9:15am
Hey Maple,