PDA

View Full Version : Have you given anything up for MAS

soliver
Jan-23-2017, 7:27pm
Several years before I started playing Mandolin I got involved in an extreme sport called Kite Buggying or Power Kiting. The sport involves kites that provide traction (obviously from the wind) for a small 3 wheeled buggy or a pneumatic tires skate board. If you have been to the beach and seen guys kite surfing, it is very similar, only it's done on land (and you get to sit down :D ). Quite frankly, I was obsessed and still am to a certain degree very involved in this sport. But over the weekend I was presented with an opportunity to sell and trade out some gear and may likely end up with some extra money which I plan to set aside and start a fund to satisfy a desire for a second Mandolin.

There was a time not too long ago, where I didn't imagine I'd ever be giving up kites for anything else, and here I've found myself selling kites to buy a Mandolin... so I'm curious what others may have given up in the name of MAS?

Anyone?

Kevin Stueve
Jan-23-2017, 7:34pm
I tried to give up a master bath remodel, but got vetoed by she who must not be named ;)

HonketyHank
Jan-23-2017, 9:12pm
Pride. Shame. Dignity. Hi. My name is Hank. I'm a mandoholic.

George R. Lane
Jan-23-2017, 10:06pm
Just my sanity, till my wife hit up side the head with my old MK.

Tobin
Jan-23-2017, 10:09pm
I sold my Harley for my Ellis, so ...yeah.

Jim Garber
Jan-23-2017, 10:12pm
I sold some mandolins for another mandolin. Does that count?

Jess L.
Jan-24-2017, 2:09am
... I'm curious what others may have given up in the name of MAS? ...

Nothing. :disbelief: Nowadays, I buy cheap stuff that fits my budget. :grin: :)) :whistling:

It's actually kind of a fun challenge :cool: for stubborn mule-headed people like myself, to see how much musical-type sounds I can pull from some two-bit piece of junk. :grin: (As long as it's well set up, straight neck, strings not an inch above the fretboard.)