PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Newbie with a New Eastman Mandolin

Groundcoat
Dec-17-2016, 6:34pm
Hi all! My first post. Today, I received a very nice Eastman 515 mandolin from the good folks at Backstage Music in Mississippi. I live in New Hampshire. Prior to this morning, I never even held a mandolin so I am a full blown newbie for sure. I have however been busy flat picking the guitar for the last 41 years. I just figured it was time to learn a new instrument. I chose the Eastman because I can't afford the American made mandolins. My Eastman mandolin is gorgeous and sounds good to my ears. I can't wait to get started. I also ordered a Lakota strap, a K&K pickup and a Hercules instrument stand. This forum appears to be a wealth of useful information and I thank you all for your insight and help.

Trav'linmando
Dec-17-2016, 6:56pm
Groundcoat, welcome to the café. Lots of great information here. I think you made a great decision on the Eastman , however, I might be a bit bias. You can find the newbies group under social groups with the listen/learn tab. Happy Picking.
Larry

Folkmusician.com
Dec-17-2016, 6:58pm
Welcome to the Cafe, and good choice on the mandolin!

HonketyHank
Dec-17-2016, 8:00pm
Welcome. I've never owned an Eastman but I am pretty sure you'll like yours. Most folks do. Good choice.

I'm active in the Newbies group too. Check us out.

Mark Gunter
Dec-17-2016, 8:08pm
Hi Groundcoat, welcome to the forum! Good choice to play mandolin, and I think you'll be pretty happy with that Eastman.

Stacey Morris
Dec-17-2016, 8:56pm
Welcome to the forum! There are several guitar players here (not me, though) so you will be in good company.

Denny Gies
Dec-17-2016, 9:17pm
Welcome to our wild, wacky world. You are in for a lot of fun. Good luck.

Elliot Luber
Dec-17-2016, 11:12pm
Play an Eastman for ten years now. Started the same way you are.

Paul Busman
Dec-18-2016, 8:26am