PDA

View Full Version : taking instruments to festivals

carler6
May-29-2005, 9:36pm
So being kinda new to the mando playing scene I'm looking at taking mine to festivals for the first time this year. I tent camp only and am just a little anxious about having it A) exposed to the change in temp and B) exposed to those of lower moral values than myself. Any advice on this. I'm hitting the NWSS and Targhee and would love to have it along but it would break my heart if I lost/ruined my mando.

arbarnhart
May-29-2005, 10:42pm
I am a novice, but...

The short answer to A is that some of the very best mandos in the world are on tour and played in varying conditions from one day to the next.

As far as protecting it from thieves goes, I would keep it with me as much as possible and probably lock it in a car with an alarm (if the car doesn't have one, you can get one for laptops that has a motion sensor and a high decible yelp for only $30 or so) perferably out of sight. Of course, then you have potential temperature issues. Maybe get a cheap extra one for piece of mind.

John Flynn
May-29-2005, 11:14pm
For temperature, I would not keep it in car, but find a shady place for it. I would also get a case cover, because it adds insulation for the mando and helps keep it from changing temperature as rapidly. It also gives extra protection if it rains. A good, inexpensive cover for a shaped case is a triple tennis racket case, like a Dunlop Bullet or Wilson Triad.

For security, I would get a Pacsafe net and secure the mando/case/case cover package to an immovable object. I have a Pacsafe for my mando and it works great.
http://www.pac-safe.com/

GTison
May-30-2005, 11:59pm
When driving in and tent camping, during the day I would always wrap the mando and case in the sleeping bag as extra insulation against the heat, and put it in the trunk. park in the shade too. lock every thing up. you'll be fine. If it is really hot out just take it with you.

fredfrank
May-31-2005, 7:48am