PDA

View Full Version : Loar LM-590 Sound

Pilot172000
Oct-27-2016, 12:27pm
I am a long time lurker, first time poster. I started to seriously learn how to play the mandolin about a month ago with a Washburn A style mandolin that wouldn't stay in tune due to condition. I did what most newbies do and that is research on here about what would be a decent starter to mid level mandolin. I read a good bit of positive feedback on the Loar LM-590 and purchased one off of ebay brand new. Well it took a couple weeks longer to get it in than had been expected and during that time I happened upon a great looking Gibson F-9 that I couldn't live with out. They both came in the same day and the Loar only came out of the box for a visual inspection before posting it back up for sale. I started playing the F-9 and haven't stopped. It went from a quiet more muted sounding mandolin as I knew it would coming from Colorado to Louisiana and gradually got louder and louder. I love it. I haven't been able to sell the Loar like I wanted and figured it would make a decent camping instrument or starter for my kid so I had it set up at my local music shop today and picked it up a little while ago to start strumming it. It was so quiet. Almost like a whisper.

My question is, will it open up like the Gibson did or is the F-9 just so much better? I know the Washburn is much louder than this Loar but not as nice. Just help me with context here as I know that I am really comparing apples to oranges. It also weights twice as much as my F-9.

lflngpicker
Oct-27-2016, 3:58pm