PDA

View Full Version : Changing genres.. does anyone do it?

mandodebbie
May-25-2005, 5:39pm
Has anyone ever, say, given up Cajun-Zydaco mando for,say, Mediveal Classical ? Or Italian Renisance Classical for down and dirty Bluegrass? Or just Blues for Gospel?(Sorry if my spellling is not quite right!) http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

Pedal Steel Mike
May-25-2005, 6:04pm
As a working guitarist, I've changed genres constantly, depending on what the gig was. During the 70s I went from playing mandolin in a bluegrass band to playing guitar in a disco band.

These days I'm concentrating on playing classical music, but for fun, I play occasionally in a blues-rock band. (BTW, the mandolin is a great blues rock instrument.)

Pedal Steel Mike
May-25-2005, 6:07pm
P.S. It's not a question of giving anything up, but rather adding something.
I see no conflict with playing Mozart one day and Muddy Waters the next. It's all good.

Ted Eschliman
May-25-2005, 6:28pm
Though my first love is jazz (obviously), I also get into Choro and Classical.
I think your right, though. True appreciation of music should be about addition, not subtraction.

John Flynn
May-25-2005, 6:54pm
I have changed a couple of times: rock and roll, church music and now old-time string band music.

Next, I want to get into 17th Century Serbo-Croation wedding marches. Man, that is a wild, wild scene! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

garyblanchard
May-25-2005, 7:56pm