PDA

View Full Version : Left Hand Technique / Muting the E-String

Trym
Aug-23-2016, 12:01pm
Hello all,

After simply reading through the threads for a while I've chosen to join this forum because I have a rather specific question for which I could find no answer.

I should state that I've been learning the mandolin by myself for about two years now, and while I didn't come across any bigger hurdles until now, I suspect a basic misunderstanding of left hand technique might cause my problem.

The problem in question is that I sometimes mute the lower E-String while fretting notes on the A-String. This especially happens when fretting with the ring finger or the pinky. As I've realized that my palm touches the string from below I've tried adjusting my hand position, which however lead to my thumb taking a very guitar-like position close to the back of the neck. While not immediately obstructive, I feel as if it should be possible to avoid that.

That's why I wanted to know whether anyone of you overcame a similar problem, and how one should tackle such. I'd find it especially interesting if there were fiddle tunes or etudes that feature crosspicking the A- and the E-String, as tackling by application helped with every other problem I've had yet.

Thanks in advance. :mandosmiley:

Explorer
Aug-23-2016, 6:21pm
After simply reading through the threads for a while I've chosen to join this forum because I have a rather specific question for which I could find no answer.

I suspect a basic misunderstanding of left hand technique might cause my problem.

The problem in question is that I sometimes mute the lower E-String while fretting notes on the A-String. This especially happens when fretting with the ring finger or the pinky. As I've realized that my palm touches the string from below I've tried adjusting my hand position, which however leads to my thumb taking a very guitar-like position close to the back of the neck.