PDA

View Full Version : Speaking of mics....

J. Mark Lane
Jan-05-2004, 2:21pm
Someone is discussing the Shure SM57's in another thread. I've had one of those for several years and had been micing acoustic instrument through it (for recording for home and educational use, I'm not a pro).

This weekend I picked up a couple of Oktava MC012's on sale cheap. Set them up as a pair, and ran them through a little Carvin SM162 mixer and into my digital recorder. Wow. The difference between these and the Shure dynamic mics is remarkable. The mando almost sounds better recorded than it does "in real life." They are sweet, quiet, clear, deep... I'm just amazed.

FWIW, as far as I can tell, these work best 12-18 inches from the instrument. Anyone have any thoughts on that?

Mark

Crowder
Jan-05-2004, 2:29pm
Where pray tell did you get them cheap??

Crowder
Jan-05-2004, 2:37pm
Also, has anyone tried the MK319 or any of the other larger diaphragm mics for recording a mandolin? Is it preferable to have the smaller capsule mics?

J. Mark Lane
Jan-05-2004, 2:55pm
Crowder,

Guitar Center had a sale going on, $99 per mic, but two for the price of one. I call that cheap....

Mark

jswag
Jan-05-2004, 4:11pm
Hi, I own 2 of the Oktavas 219's and have used them for recording and a 2 mic set up for playing out (3vocals,and 3 instruments). I sometimes run one or both through a Blue tube preamp, and that has warmed it up too! (the 219's need 48 phantom power) I have been real happy with them!!!
Jeff

Crowder
Jan-05-2004, 4:23pm
Do the 012's require phantom power?

Ken Sager
Jan-05-2004, 4:45pm
Do the 012's require phantom power?
Yes, they do require phantom power.

I have a pair and have enjoyed using them. They're a little dark, and add a bit of bass to other instruments, but they sound great on the mando.

Best,
Ken

TonyP.
Jan-05-2004, 8:13pm