PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum

howdo3313
Jun-21-2016, 12:07pm
Hi all,

New member here.
Just a post to say Hello. And offer a clip of my first performance on mando.
I am a drummer by trade, and play mostly in rock outfits. Though as a child I spent much time at country, and bluegrass festivals via my grandparents...so there is a love there.

Had a banjo as a teen, and picked up guitar along the way too. Mandolin came later...a lot later...really just in the last couple of years. But I absolutely love playing it. It's too much fun.

Anyway, this past Friday...what was that the 17th I got my first opportunity to perform on mando. It IS with a Led Zeppelin tribute, so I am sure a few here will pass over this...but as someone who doesn't really ever get up to the front of the stage, this was big for me.

Really want to find my way into the country/bluegrass music I heard as a kiddo. Rock and roll is great and all. But as I get older I realize I haven't spent much time on the music of my childhood years. And that's what has my heart.

Cheers, and all the best. And thank you for being here :)
Christopher.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hy-cHV61160

howdo3313
Jun-21-2016, 12:12pm
Fixed ;)

Marc Berman
Jun-21-2016, 12:22pm
Great job!

Rob Beck
Jun-21-2016, 1:39pm
Sounds good to me! Nice work :)

DataNick
Jun-21-2016, 2:05pm
Welcome Christopher!....and nicely done!

...and that singer does sound a bit like Robert Plant...cool!

Denny Gies
Jun-21-2016, 2:13pm
Welcome to the fray. Not bad for a drummer. Now get serious and get into that bluegrass.......much more fun. Good luck.

Charles E.
Jun-21-2016, 4:51pm
As a Rock and Roll drummer who plays mandolin, you are in good company. The late Levon Helm of The Band also played mandolin.

Welcome the the Cafe.

9lbShellhamer
Jun-21-2016, 10:00pm
Very cool to hear something different. Thanks for sharing

howdo3313
Jun-21-2016, 11:14pm
Aw, thanks guys. I definitely aim to move forward, and get serious:)