PDA

View Full Version : Left-handed mandolin at local pawn shop...

dadsaster
Jun-14-2016, 6:07pm
I would love some input on this mandolin. It's an Oscar Schmidt, used, with a case for $230. I'm a total beginner to mandolin and am looking for a lefty starter instrument. I know these aren't great instruments but there is almost nothing under $400 for us lefties.

All thoughts are greatly appreciated.

https://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/msd/5628989458.html

choctaw61
Jun-14-2016, 6:26pm
I own the same mandolin.I enjoy it.Have gotten several good compliments on it.U won't get good reviews here though.But mine sounds as good as any in the same price range new as any recommended here.Maybe I got lucky with mine.Came with a good set up. Though i did lower the strings a lil more. Go for it u certainly won't be out much.And ignore the comments that will flood this thread about how u need to play right handed. I do believe Eastman and kentucky make left hand mandolins. They get great reviews here. U will get more bang for the buck by buying an A-Style also.hope this helps.

StuartE
Jun-14-2016, 8:21pm
If you are a total beginner to mandolin, there are some strong arguments for learning on a regular mandolin, rather than a so-called "left-handed" model. If you already play guitar, etc. "left-handed," then a LH mandolin makes more sense.

Do you want to use your stronger, more co-ordinated (left) hand to play the more intricate and involved motions of fretting scales, chords, and melodies on the mandolin? Or your weaker, less co-ordinated (right) hand? And, which hand for the usually less complicated picking and strumming?

Learning mandolin the usual way will make it easier to learn from books, videos, and other players.

If you learn "right-handed," you'll have many more mandolins to choose from when you upgrade.

Maybe a lefty mando makes sense for you, but think it through before assuming that is the way to go.

houseworker
Jun-14-2016, 8:47pm