PDA

View Full Version : Advice requested

jimmyjames
Mar-17-2016, 10:38am
Hi, I am not very active on this site but have been a member for a few years. I am mainly a guitarist. I play bluegrass. I am trying to find a good mandolin for around $500.

I used to own a J Bovier A5T and I can't find anything in my price range that sound as good. I especially notice it in the chop.

Is it possible to get something that can play in a spirited bluegrass jam for my price range? In the used market, there is an Eastman MD315, Loar LM600VS, Kentucky KM-650, Kentucky KM-800. I am not looking specifically for an F model, this is just what I am seeing in my price range.

All advice is greatly appreciated!

Jim

9lbShellhamer
Mar-17-2016, 12:41pm
I would either get the Eastman 305 or a Kentucky 505. The finish and build quality on the Kentucky is a million times better than the Eastman, but I actually prefer the Eastman tone. I would call The Mandolin Store and talk to them. You'll get a ton of great responses here, but those are the 2 best mandolins in that price range for the most part. Make CERTAIN to purchase from a quality shop like The Mandolin Store, or Folk Musician, Elderly, etc, as they'll be set up to play, etc. This is paramount...to get from a reputable shop.

gtani7
Mar-17-2016, 4:30pm
I second 9lb's advice, but is there a dealer where you can play a lot of instruments? If it's a bus/train ride and a few hours away, i think that's a worthy investment. You want to feel the finish, neck shapes, fingerboard radius and fret sizes in person, and different instruments of the same model number will sound different

(Me: 2 eastmans, 1 Kentucky, 1 "The Loar" currently

allenhopkins
Mar-18-2016, 6:34pm