PDA

View Full Version : I played a circa 1900 Stridente mandolin on the weekend.

zedmando
Mar-07-2016, 7:19pm
It was cool--I don't know how well it matched up with other Stridentes or other bowl back mandolins, as I am not an expert, but it sounded good to me--it played well also.
It was priced at $450 (Canadian $)

Wish I'd been able to get a picture to share with you.
I also played a tricone reso mandolin--which I may be able to post a picture of.

If I had a spare $450 i would have been tempting, but I would also have done some research.

Jim Garber
Mar-07-2016, 8:48pm
If it was in good shape, that price is reasonable. For US-ers it is about $338USD. Stridentes are good serviceable Italian-made bowlbacks. Was it in a shop?

allenhopkins
Mar-07-2016, 10:25pm
...I also played a tricone reso mandolin--which I may be able to post a picture of...

Was it an original National tri-cone, and if so, what was the listed price?

Jim Garber
Mar-07-2016, 11:09pm
Was it an original National tri-cone, and if so, what was the listed price?

Allen: correct me if I am wrong but I don't think National ever made a tri-cone mandolin. I think all mandolins and ukuleles were single cones.

No, I correct myself... they did make it in the very early days. Those early tricone mandolins and ukuleles must be very rare.

zedmando
Mar-12-2016, 10:16pm
If it was in good shape, that price is reasonable. For US-ers it is about $338USD. Stridentes are good serviceable Italian-made bowlbacks. Was it in a shop?

yes it was in a shop--I have no affiliation with the place--but they had some cool old stuff.

zedmando
Mar-12-2016, 10:24pm
Different store-
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v31/cflstampman/random%20and%20or%20funny/forum%20stuff/IMG_1150.jpg

allenhopkins
Mar-13-2016, 5:40pm
... they did make it in the very early days. Those early tricone mandolins and ukuleles must be very rare.