PDA

View Full Version : Beginner with some extra time

medley
Dec-31-2015, 6:18pm
Hello all, and Happy New Year!

I have some extra free time available to me in the next few weeks, and wanted to use it wisely to jump start my mandolin playing. I'm not a raw beginner. I am an intermediate banjo player, so I have some experience in timing, tablature, chord progressions, etc.

As far as the mandolin goes, I know some of the main chords, I can play some melodies that I picked out of Hal Leonard's Mandolin Method book. I have ordered a Mike Marshall DVD as well as a Steve Kauffman DVD, should be here simile next week.

My goal is to just be a soloist, playing gospel chord melodies as well as old folk songs. Live in a remote area, not many musicians or instructors around.

I am off work the next three weeks, and will easily have 2-3 hours a day during this time to work on the mandolin. I am just wondering what might be the best thing for me to focus on to best utilize this time?

Zach Wilson
Dec-31-2015, 6:37pm
http://www.mandolessons.com/lessons/fiddle-tunes/

Here's a good resource for learning fiddle tunes. Enjoy!

medley
Dec-31-2015, 8:27pm
Thank you for the link, great resource indeed

I guess what I am asking is what should a beginner do in the beginner stages? Just follow one of these dvd's over and over? Or spend a lot of time noodling over a couple of melodies trying to improve accuracy? Lots of time on scales?

I haven't seen these dvd's yet, maybe they will answer my question. I just don't want this extra time to escape me

bigskygirl
Dec-31-2015, 8:59pm
Check out the new book featured at the top of the forum, looks like alot of good fiddle tunes. Learning mandolin usually falls into 2 basic camps...learn lots of tunes...learn lots of theory. Even though you are intermediate banjo player you are a beginner on mandolin.