PDA

View Full Version : Sneak Preview

Jim Hilburn
Mar-03-2004, 5:45pm
Too bad I'm so slow I couldn't get it done for Wintergrass.Oh,well,give me a couple of more days.

Jim Hilburn
Mar-03-2004, 5:46pm
Here's one in the setting sun.

pickinpox
Mar-03-2004, 5:55pm
Here's one in the setting sun.

Jim, correction....that mandolin IS the setting sun!

Absolutely beauiful.

mandofiddle
Mar-03-2004, 5:56pm
Drool...

mandopete
Mar-03-2004, 6:11pm
You're scaring me man!

RI Jim
Mar-03-2004, 6:30pm
Jim , that is one beautiful instrument......... Great colors on great wood.... I have to ask, is this the one you had posted pictures of a few weeks back http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/rock.gif With the ' RR' in the fretboard and blue masking tape ?? If so , how on earth did you get the finish done so fast ? My laquer jobs take at least a month + from start to finish. That is truly a beautiful instrument, and being a luthier i know what to look for ! < G >

Jim

Jim Hilburn
Mar-03-2004, 6:42pm
Hey, Jim, I'm trying to do this for a living. That seems painfully slow to me.
I'm sure I got the color on the day I posted and had it scraped and first coated the next day. Then I would have level sanded it the next day ,and did the final coats the day after that. Then you have 2 weeks to final sand,make a pickguard ,fit the bridge, make a nut, and in my case,take a trip to Tucson.

Flowerpot
Mar-03-2004, 7:02pm
Tucson? What fer? I would have gladly said howdy had I known such a cafe notable was coming around to my neck of the woods.

That's one absolutely gorgeous looking piece there. It would be hard to decide whether to frame it or play it... well, maybe not, I'd play it. Great job!

Mar-03-2004, 8:21pm
Great looking mando Jim http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Skip Kelley
Mar-03-2004, 8:35pm
Awesome!!!! As always!!

Mar-03-2004, 8:40pm