PDA

View Full Version : New guy in Clarksville, TN

The Student
Oct-30-2015, 12:51pm
Hey all, my name's Mike and I'm new to both the area (military) and the instrument. I've been playing guitar and bass for a handful of years, but mostly rock and metal, so new genre as well I suppose haha. I'm really interested in folk music and want to play an acoustic instrument, and when I checked out folk music videos online the play style of the mandolin caught my interest. I also got to play my uncle's during a family get together back in Louisiana a few years ago and had a blast playing it, such a fun little instrument! So I did a little research and with my very limited budget got on folkmusician and ordered the Rover RM-50 along with the necessary accessories. Everyone seems to speak highly of their setups, so I'm hoping what I've read holds true. Anyway, if anyone's interested in getting together to make some noise let me know!

DataNick
Oct-30-2015, 3:49pm
Congrats Mike! I'm sure you'll find some pickers in that neck of the woods to jam with. Check out the local bluegrass association(s) online for jamming activities, etc.

albeham
Oct-30-2015, 7:44pm
Mike
Welcome and lived there for 15 years with the 5th. Get out to any jam, head to Nashville. .....enjoy the journey

Al

choctaw61
Oct-30-2015, 8:15pm
Hey mike,welcome to the Cafe,and thank U for Ur service! Get U a mandolin and get after it. There should be a hot bed of pickers up in that area ready to help U get started. Also a big ol wave to ya from down here in Louisiana!!!!

Gypsy
Oct-31-2015, 2:07am
Hi Mike :) I'm not far from you. I'd love to jam with you but I'm incapacitated for awhile. Just had surgery and another coming up Wednesday but I wish you good luck. I was also in a metal band :)
Rock on !

Stacey Morris
Nov-01-2015, 9:14pm
Hi Mike. Welcome to the Café. And thank you for your service.

allenhopkins
Nov-02-2015, 1:37am
If someone took the last train to Clarksville, would you meet 'em at the station?