PDA

View Full Version : Which Mandolin to learn on ?

fred_zeppelin
Apr-27-2005, 1:03pm
Hi Im a guitarist whos interested in learning a bit of mandolin for a change. My plans realy just to pick out a few bits n pieces for fun now and again. So I'm lookin for something cheap and second hand. I've been checking out ebay and have seebn that Celtic style mandos are generaly cheaper than As or Fs and am therefore considering getting one since with limmeted money I should get better quality (right?). Apart than the fact that they look different (ie no f holes) are there any other differences ? Is there any reason why I should chose an A instead ? I am generaly thinking of trying to learn the odd Led Zeppelin / Waterboys / Oysterband song (I've seen that these groups use A or F mandolins - is there a reason for this ? )

Thanks for the advice

Fred

Pen
Apr-27-2005, 1:52pm
First I would recommend hitting a couple music stores or pawn shops and playing a variety of instruments to find out what YOU like. If you are going to be happy with a beater mando - there's likely a bunch that you can grab for under $100.00.

For me - I was happy with my A-Style Kentucky. It didn't sound that good - but the action was really good. As a learning mando - it was great. Once you find a mando you like - do a search in classified's here - or ask for a particular make/model in classifieds. You'll find it.

Glad to see you picking up this fun instrument. Just realize - there is a very good chance you may not touch your guitar again!

mandomadman
Apr-27-2005, 1:58pm