PDA

View Full Version : One Octave Down & Lovin' the Sound!

Emmett Marshall
Oct-12-2015, 6:53pm
I have a confession to make: I haven't touched my regular mandolins since I got a Weber Octave a few weeks ago. I feel kinda "weird" about this. The octave just keeps calling me, and the others do not right now. Something's definitely going on. - musically speaking, and right now it doesn't seem that I'm attracted to this new sound just because it's "new." Maybe I feel "guilty" that my Gibsons are collecting some dust? I guess I just need to "go with it"...so....

Today I started learning this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qlM-tu8cm8Q

I'm not used to stretching my fingers this far and using my pinky so much, so, in about a year or so, I might have this song down. :disbelief:

Timbofood
Oct-12-2015, 7:03pm
Don't feel weird, just BE weird! It's a new baby, you have got to spoil them wit too much attention so it knows you love it!

Emmett Marshall
Oct-12-2015, 7:35pm
Don't feel weird, just BE weird! It's a new baby, you have got to spoil them wit too much attention so it knows you love it!

I'm going to take your advice and BE weird! I'm feeling like a transition is taking place since I discovered the sound of the octave mandolin. I wasn't expecting this to happen. Don't get me wrong. I still love the sound of the mandolin, but the octave mandolin seems so much more complex, emotional, and expressive for "me." Not only that, but the finger stretching aside, I'm finding it easier to make chords as well. I guess this is what scares me; I'm taking to the octave immediately/naturally - more so than I did with the regular mandolins. I look at my other mandolins, and I say "nah", and then I pick up the octave instead. The result is immediately gratifying. In my mind, getting an octave mandolin was intended to add some backup and something a little different to the mix, but I never expected that it would cast a shadow over the entire herd. :confused:

bigskygirl