PDA

View Full Version : Very Old Mandolin-Need Help With Identification

fiddler93
Sep-07-2015, 8:05am
Hello all!

I am new to mandolin cafe.The other day I was at the church in my town and I asked the padre if he had any old instruments that werent being used and he could give away.So he showed me this mandolin and I since I couldnt afford a new one some time back I decided to take it.Now he told me that the instrument was quite old and was actually used in the choir.He told me it was Italian made,from Roma I think.So I am posting a few pictures of the stringed instrument and I hope someone might recognise it.I am from Karlskrona,a small town in the southern province of Sweden.

allenhopkins
Sep-07-2015, 2:37pm
My initial guess would be German manufacture, which I'm basing on the slotted headstock and the design of the pickguard. Also, I haven't seen many Italian instruments with blond maple ribs in the bowl, but I'm far from an expert.

Paul Hostetter
Sep-07-2015, 6:04pm
The padre was right. It's distinctly Roman. No label?

fiddler93
Sep-07-2015, 6:26pm
I was looking for labels or manufacturer insignia everywhere on the mandolin,but couldnt find any.

Bob A
Sep-07-2015, 7:17pm
The neck appears to have the Roman V-shaped cross-section, as well as being narrow in the Roman style. The pickguard is reminiscent of German/Central European decoration.

Try using a dental type mirror to look for any markings hidden within the bowl.

brunello97
Sep-07-2015, 7:38pm
My initial guess would be German manufacture, which I'm basing on the slotted headstock and the design of the pickguard. Also, I haven't seen many Italian instruments with blond maple ribs in the bowl, but I'm far from an expert.