PDA

View Full Version : calling all beginners

craig
Feb-18-2004, 4:48pm
as i'm seeking some inspiration to learn a new song, i was wondering if any non-professional players would be interested in picking a tune that we all don't know and spending a few weeks to learn it together? maybe we could choose a TEF song off co-mando. learn it. record our own version once we are comfortable with it. then, somehow swap with each other to see each others take on the tune. thought it would be interesting to see how different or similar each plays the song and get some feedback and criticism on our own performance. not sure how we'd go about posting it to each other, but i'm sure there's a way without taking up any cafe space. any takers?

craig

Bluegrasstjej
Feb-18-2004, 4:53pm
Craig, you're a genius!! What a great idea!! It sounds like lots of fun! Do you have any suggestion for a tune? I'm not a real beginner but I'm close to it. At least I'm not a professional player.

John Zimm
Feb-18-2004, 4:54pm
Count me in Craig. I am pretty well willing to learn anything. Just keep me posted.

-John.

Bluegrasstjej
Feb-18-2004, 4:54pm
About the space, I have a new MSN group for my own mandolin recordings where we could put them. I'll see it it would work for the storage space.

Nik-chick
Feb-18-2004, 8:23pm
I'm in. I don't know if I'd be able to do anything, but I'm in. What about a gospel number?

craig
Feb-18-2004, 9:01pm
Bluegrasstjej,

the MSN account sounds like a good idea. we could open up an account that we could all share and post at leisure. that way we wouldn't use up your space and we'd all be able to access it.

i'm up for learning anything, really, but here's a list of songs i was thinking about:

sally goodin
arkansas traveler
bonaparte's retreat
fisher's hornpipe
cherokee shuffle
soldier's joy
beaumont rag
blackberry rag
cold frosty morning