PDA

View Full Version : Modulation

gilgamesh
Mar-03-2004, 8:30am
I'm working on a set which requires me to modulate from major to minor and back - as it's C17 music, I thought I'd use a "tierce de Picardie" for minor to major - but does that lead between relative minor & major, or corresponding? Is there a similar "signpost" to get from major to minor in the first place? Any advice gratefully received.

Jim Garber
Mar-03-2004, 8:54am
Wow... I have been playing music for about 30 years -- not that I know everything -- but I was amazed by how I haven't a clue what you are talking about. Is this some early music jargon?

I did look up tierce de picardie (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tierce_de_Picardie), tho and figured out that C17 is the 17th century.

Sorry I can't help you but I am sure that others on this list will chime in.

BTW when you say "working on a set" does that mean you are composing in the style or performing.

Pardon my ignorance...

Jim

gilgamesh
Mar-03-2004, 9:01am
Not composing - just playing. Relative minor eg A minor is the relative minor to C major (shares the same key signature), corresponding major - C major #/ C minor where the 3rd gets changed (and 7th in some forms)

vkioulaphides
Mar-03-2004, 9:10am
[QUOTE]" from major to minor and back"

Do you mean relative or parallel keys? Either way, the Picardy third is not really a devise for modulation, just an ad hoc, momentary alteration in a cadence.

And Jim's question is most relevant: What exactly are you trying to do?

jeffshuniak
Mar-03-2004, 9:32am