PDA

View Full Version : Difference between oval and f sound holes?

Bubba707
Jul-28-2015, 9:01pm
I'm a real newbie at mandolin and I've been looking at listings. What is the performance difference between an oval sound hole and f sound holes? Which would give more volume without effecting tone? What is the sound difference between flat top and carved top? I appreciate any help here since it will help decide what to get to replace the cheap Mitchell I have.
Mike

onassis
Jul-28-2015, 9:34pm
Here (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?116313-Holes-an-old-question-from-a-new-member&highlight=oval+difference) and here (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?115249-Oval-hole-and-F-hole&highlight=oval+difference) are a couple of recent threads on the subject. Conventional wisdom is that ff holes are perceived as louder (tone cuts a little better). Which tone you would prefer is purely subjective. Many seem to prefer an ff hole instrument when playing in loud settings.

k0k0peli
Jul-28-2015, 9:56pm
They vary. Conventional wisdom is that f-holes project better -- but my luthier-crafted (KE Coleman of Albuquerque) oval-hole mando is louder than my cheap f-holes, louder than almost any f-hole I've played. I'm not sure, but I think my cheap-o mandos are pressed arch-tops while the Coleman is definitely carved. Loudest of all (except for the ancient banjo-mandolin) is a cheap Chinese flattop mandola, but that's a larger body. I also have an f-hole baritone 'uke that's very quiet, and an f-hole resonator guitar that isn't. I do feel that f-hole instruments sound brighter, and round or oval-hole axes have more rounded, fuller tones.

Bubba707
Jul-28-2015, 10:36pm