PDA

View Full Version : 'Invented' a brace to do the job of a tonegard

Ron McMillan
Jul-21-2015, 12:31pm
I have long toyed with making something that would do the job of a Tonegard (http://www.tone-gard.com/) (the wire lattice device that goes across the back of a mandolin to separate the back of the instrument from the player's stomach, thereby letting the back vibrate freely, making the mandolin louder).

The popularity of the Tonegard among top players is evidence enough that it performs a useful function, but I live too far away from the source to try one out - and, in any case, don't find its design very appealing. So I decided to try and make something that would do the same job.

I never make anything. I have had no woodworking experience since I was in high school more than forty years ago. I am not clever with my hands. All of which is meant to excuse and/or explain the simplicity and roughness of my simple creation.

I sourced adjustable brackets long enough for the job; I worked out that violin chinrest brackets would not be long enough - so I bought viola chinrest brackets, which are a bit longer.

Then I got my piece of wood. After considering this very carefully, I picked a piece that was lying by the side of the road. I have no idea what it is, though I am fairly sure it came from an old packing crate. Not exactly high-quality timber, then, but the price was about right for an experiment that could well come to nothing.