PDA

View Full Version : Rhythm guitar player seeking mandolin advice

Resolve
Jun-01-2015, 10:48am
Hi Everyone. This is my first post. I come seeking wisdom and advice... hopefully both. ;)

I've been playing guitar for about 10 years. I'm just a strummer. Somehow I've managed to get paired up with amazing lead players and have never really progressed beyond that for which I was needed and know little about music theory. I currently play/sing in a duo and we get gigs here and there.

I've become acquainted with mandolin through the music to which my duo partner has acquainted me but claim no real knowledge of many of the genres that feature mandolin. I love the music of Della Mae... probably more of what one might call "newgrass".

Just as when I took up guitar, there are questions asked that are intended to guide one toward mandolin purchase. Now as back when I knew nothing about guitar, I couldn't answer those questions. I have a "general curiosity".

I find that little instrument intriguing with its 2 strings per note construction as well as its long history. I love the idea of something so small in size on which to noodle...like having a lap dog instead of a golden retriever while loving both. I bought a couple of inexpensive little ukes (Dolphins) in hopes of engaging my granddaughter (now 3) who loves to "strum along on her Barbie guitar" when I play my Martin. With some accompanying chord charts I can play/sing with that little thing and it's "fun" but I don't like the sound enough to really spend a lot of time/effort.

I have a lot of questions... but don't know enough about the instrument to even know how to formulate them! One thing I know is that I'd like to be able to pick out more melodies than I do on guitar. I don't play lead at ALL and I don't "jam" but I'd like to be able to do both as "goals" for learning mandolin. In terms of the instrument itself, I'll be most attracted to a more bass-y sound.