PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin in other genres?

MandoAlexander
May-21-2015, 3:38pm
Hello all,

I am new to these forums, and I'm enjoying myself so far. I am also new to mandolin, or rather playing them. My father plays, and I have played guitar for many years. I am finding the transition from guitar to mandolin very enjoyable indeed, a really fun, fresh concept for me.

Anyway, cutting to the chase, I love many genres of music. From classical to bluegrass, from jazz to metal, anything in between. I recently spotted two guys on YouTube doing a mando cover or Tool's 'Lateralus' (My favourite band are Tool) and I was wondering if any mando experts on here could point me in the direction of any players using the mandolin in a new and innovative way in other genres of music?

Also, on a side note, can anyone recommend me any mandolin musicians or groups to listen to? As I'm not familiar with many players right now, besides Bill Monroe and Chris Thile, which may seem pretty obvious.

Thanks!

Steve Lavelle
May-21-2015, 4:31pm
David Grisman has an extensive musical catalog in a great variety of styles. He's recorded bluegrass, jazz, Gypsy jazz, funk, and invented his own hybrid style, commonly referred to as Dawg music. Jethro Burns was a great Jazz mandolinist. the late Nash the Slash was my first exposure to punk electric mandolin. Sam Bush is sometimes called the father of Newgrass for his innovations in applying the mandolin to other styles of music. Andy Statman does some very avant garde things with the mandolin. I'm sure others will chime in with their own suggestions.

PaulVA
May-21-2015, 4:42pm
You may want to check out Caterina Lichtenberg. This is pretty interesting stuff I think:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Pw26nmGgG8

CelticDude
May-21-2015, 4:50pm