PDA

View Full Version : Collapsed top

bigbike4
Apr-15-2005, 8:00am
Got a cheapie hondo mandolin given to me that has a collapsed top (under the bridge). The supports (2 wooden dowels) are in there, but I notice the back is starting to give out also. My question-Can I open this up and put 4 small, thin wooden shims in? (One glued directly over the affected top/bottom area, without affecting tone?)

Can you tell I am new to this?

bigbike4
Apr-15-2005, 5:15pm
Well, I opened her up and then found that there was a brace that had come unglued in the area that collapsed. All afternoon I have been working with glue and clamps to get the brace back down. I am also gonna reposition the wooden dowel braces while I am in here and then over the weekend reglue the bottom on. The item appears to be a very light colored (blonde finish) with pick guard, Hondo. The hardware is in great shape. I would estimate this instrument is still in the $100 range (or below). It should be fun to learn on.

Since I have had it open and the strings off, I have cleaned up the neck and fretboard-which is ebony and not rosewood. All in all not a bad little gimme http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif instrument. I also do work on banjos, as well as play them. I usually get myself into more trouble because I leap before looking. Anyway, If anybody wants to comment let me know. I still wanna find out if I put some light weight spruce pieces on top (and bottom) of the dowels if this will help keep them from pushing thru? http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif

sunburst
Apr-15-2005, 5:41pm
Dowels?
That ain't standard equipment in any mandolins that I know of. Are you sure they aren't something somebody added because the tone bars were loose and the top was sinking?
It smacks of "home remedy" to me.
If I'm right, and the tone bars are properly re-glued, I don't think you need no stinking dowels.

John Bertotti
Apr-15-2005, 7:30pm