PDA

View Full Version : Volume increase on pull-off

Megaphone
Apr-25-2015, 3:37pm
Pardon if I use layman terms here but I'm fairly new to the mandolin. So this just starting happening a couple of minutes ago from what I can tell. When I pull off, specifically from the D string, I notice an actual increase of the volume of the string for about half a second. This hasn't happened up until now and is actually quite distracting when trying to continue with a song. Anyone have any ideas what could be causing this? I am at a loss.

Timbofood
Apr-25-2015, 3:41pm
When you make the pull off is it to an open string? If so, one might make the argument that the chamber is tuned or at least sympathetic to a "D".
Other than that, I got nuthin'
Someone will offer another opinion any minute, such is life on the cafe!:grin:

Megaphone
Apr-25-2015, 3:53pm
It is indeed to an open D string. I actually tried untuning the two D strings and retuning in case that may be the culprit but no joy. Again new to this so not sure what you mean by the chamber being tuned or sympathetic. Any advice on how to go about remedying?

des
Apr-25-2015, 3:54pm
Now if you could do that with a hammer on it would really be something !

You can actually strike/sound/pull/ pluck the string with the left hand fingers when doing a pull off - I'm sure that classical violinists have an Italian word for it. It's not difficult on the mandolin but because of the short sustain probably not worth the effort.

I suspect that what you are describing is a sign that you're doing something right - namely holding down the lowest fret you played last.

Timbofood
Apr-25-2015, 3:56pm
How new are the strings?

Timbofood
Apr-25-2015, 4:04pm
Instrument bodies basically are "bells" (to make it as simple as I can, and I am not upset if wiser folk than me chime in with a more accurate opinion) which resonate a note, either by design or coincidence, which may have some effect on a sympathetic note played.