PDA

View Full Version : what are we paying for?

billkilpatrick
Apr-13-2005, 4:09am
this may seem an odd or obvious question to those more familiar with electric instruments but what, exactly, does one pay for when buying one?

aside from beauty - a universal premium - i understand that with acoustic instruments it's the quality of wood and craftsmanship that count - plus, it would appear, the brand name - but what criteria is used when buying an electric?

- beginner bill

Christian McKee
Apr-13-2005, 10:20am
One still pays for playability, craftsmanship and quality of materials, they're just measured in different ways with electric instruments. Building an electric instrument that will last for years while sounding good requires different skills than building an acoustic that will do the same. I know that when I started playing (acoustic) mandolin, I couldn't tell the difference in tone between a $250 Korean instrument and a quality Weber, but I've since upgraded to a Breedlove becuase I couldn't take it any more. The same thing will probably happen to you with electrics: they'll all sound the same at first, but After you have a chance to play a few you'll start to notice the very real differences between pickups, woods, how they're arranged on the body of your instrument, the sounds that different wiring schemes make possible, etc. Good luck!

Christian

mikeomando
Apr-13-2005, 11:09am
I second what Taboot said. You'd think it would be easy to crank out a quality emando... but it isn't, judging by how many out there aren't. Many emandos with similar scale lengths can't play evenly across the strings: some strings are louder or softer than others when played with the exact same pick attack. Some emandos can't get close to proper intonation. Many can't manage to stay in tune. Plenty have trouble with the string tension across strings being all over the map.