PDA

View Full Version : Help to ID family mandolin

Mgl64
Apr-13-2015, 9:42pm
Hi there,

This mandolin belonged to my grandfather (1884-1941). It is a bowl back style but I can find no manufacturer markings anywhere on it. I believe it to be from early 1900's. It looks as there was a label inside but there only remains a tiny shred of white paper. I'm hoping someone can help Id it by hardware,build style or details. Thanks in advance.

GKWilson
Apr-14-2015, 12:49am
I'm not an expert, but at first glance I'm thinking Martin.
F. C. Martin from Boston. Is there a place on the back of
the headstock where a small plate may have been?
Someone with real knowledge will check in soon.
Wished I had a nice heirloom like this from my Grandfather.
Gary

Mgl64
Apr-14-2015, 8:23am
Here are some additional photos.

Mgl64
Apr-14-2015, 8:24am
Gary, thank you so much for your response. The headstock has a metal plate on it but I see nothing identifying there. I'm thrilled to have inherited this instrument.

EdHanrahan
Apr-14-2015, 9:06am
I'm no expert either, but the large number of "barrel staves" in the body would make it a fairly high-end instrument. Student-level models often have only seven (as few as five?) such sections, while quality instrument generally have at least 15. From what I can count in the photos, there are more than 20.

FWIW, the Martin technical reference book indicates that their Styles 2 & 3 had 26 ribs, while Styles 4 & 5 each had 34 ribs. But many of Martin's details (headstock shape & metal backplate, bridge design, lack of fretboard extension over soundhole) don't seem to match the OP's photos. While the pickguard inlay doesn't quite match either, the book does note that there were other patterns used at various times.

Mgl64
Apr-14-2015, 9:25am
Hi Ed,

Thank you for your reply. I really appreciate the information as I have no familiarity with mandolin history or manufacturers. I counted the ribs and there are exactly 40. Thanks again,Mary

Hadji36