PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin training progression

Megaphone
Mar-18-2015, 5:53pm
I'm hoping to get some suggestions from you all as to good ways to train on the Mandolin. I studied both Piano and Violin for several years but both were under an instructor. I will be underway on a ship for a significant portion of the next year so I will most likely be going solo when it comes to training.

As I have quickly learned, an instructor allows you to be lazy when it comes to practice in that he or she tells you what to do and you execute with little thought! Now that I am fiddling around solo on the Mandolin I'm finding that it's a little difficult to set up my own progression plan (eg. songs to work on, should I focus on chords, melodies, etc.) As violin is similar in many ways I have actually considered just reopening my old violin music and trying to play to that. Bottom line, I don't want to train inefficiently if I don't have to, especially when much of that training will be done on a ship. I appreciate any help in this area and look forward to your thoughts.

Gelsenbury
Mar-18-2015, 7:22pm
Would you consider a tutorial book? And are you after a particular style or tradition of music?

Megaphone
Mar-18-2015, 8:36pm
I would definitely consider a tutorial book, in fact I'm currently going through a "First lessons" book to start out. I am primarily trained classically but I would really like to look into bluegrass eventually as that's what brought me to the mandolin in the first place.

Peter Coronado
Mar-18-2015, 11:32pm
Just a thought... Crossing over from violin, the pick and picking hand is a big change. Get some picking exercises and work those. Mike Marshall has a Homespun video (NFI) with some. Jim Richter has a book with some (again NFI).

SincereCorgi
Mar-19-2015, 12:24am