PDA

View Full Version : My first mandolin...ah!

Chughes423
Mar-08-2015, 2:44pm
I have been reading and watching this forum for about year now. After many hours online and at local shops I have finally purchased my first mandolin, Savannah sf 100. I've been playing electric guitar for about 20 years and play bass at my church. I tried a mandolin about 3 years ago but had no interested. A few years later I checked it out again while being asked to play along a couple of songs at church and my heart started to change. I'm very excited to start a new journey.

Does anyone have any tips from going from guitar to mandolin?

JeffD
Mar-08-2015, 2:53pm
Lots. There is enough for a booklet.

Briefly.

There are exceptions to everything, but in general:

The left hand is different. Mandolin is two frets per finger, and the thumb rides up on the top of the neck, not the center of the back. The fingers come into the frets at an angle, not parallel to the frets.

The right hand is different: Mandolinners tend to use heaver picks, 1mm+, and to hold the pick between the knuckle of the first finger and the ball of the thumb, (first knuckle or second knuckle or the space between the first and second knuckle on the side of the finger). Not so much between the pads of the thumb and finger.

The playing is different:

Being tuned consistently in fifths the mandolin has more symmetries to take advantage of all over the place, up and down the neck of course, but also across the neck.

Lots of really good videos to watch that emphasize each of these, and other things too. I am sure they will be linked.

Welcome to this corner of the internet and welcome back to the mandolin. It will own you if you are not careful. And why be careful?

Mike Arakelian
Mar-08-2015, 3:13pm
Congratulations and welcome to the Cafe'!

Kevin Stueve
Mar-08-2015, 4:09pm
Lots. There is enough for a booklet.