PDA

View Full Version : Kentucky 505 "Reintroduction"?

sagebrush
Mar-08-2015, 10:48am
Hi there! This is my first post on the forum. I started playing mandolin a few years ago, but then grad school and work got in the way and I only picked it back up again this January. After a month or so of playing, I realized my Rogue wasn't going to satisfy me long-term, so I decided to upgrade.

Long story short, I settled on purchasing a Kentucky 505 from a small music store. That was at the end of January. I still do not have the mandolin. The store did not have a Kentucky 505 in stock, so they ordered it for me from Saga (yes, I bought it unseen and unplayed-- around here, I don't have many other options, so I went with buying from a small local-ish store with what I thought was great customer service). Saga told the store owner that they were "reintroducing" the 505 with new and improved features, and so they would be delayed in shipping out. It's a month and a half later and Saga has still not told the store an estimated ship date.

I guess my question is-- has anyone else heard that this is happening with the 505? Has Saga had issues before with shipping dates or having their mandolins be difficult to obtain?

Had I known when I ordered it that I would still be waiting in March, I don't think I would have gone through with the sale. At this point, I'm wondering if I should try to cancel the order and get the other mandolin I've had my eye on.

Thanks for reading a ridiculously long post. I guess that's the English teacher in me!

Northwest Steve
Mar-08-2015, 11:06am
You might contact Saga/Kentucky directly and try to get the straight answer. I have contacted them a few times with questions and they have always responded promptly and were helpful.

http://www.sagamusic.com/products/show-mandolins.aspx?brand=kentucky

allenhopkins
Mar-08-2015, 12:24pm