PDA

View Full Version : Info on Gibson F5L

Mitch Harris
Apr-07-2005, 10:58am
I'm a newbie to this board and have a question the folks here can most likely answer. I read where the Gibson MM is a recreation of the early 20's Loar. Is the F5L also a recreation of a specific time period Gibson? Are the differences between the MM and F5L basically the use of hide glue and a varnish finish? It's a little confusing because the F5L I have(4/2004) has a sticker inside that says "Master Model" Fern.

Thanks for any feedback in this regard. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

evanreilly
Apr-07-2005, 11:14am
As the varnish-finished Master Model F-5 is a current recreation of the Lloyd Loar era F-5 mandolin, the current Gibson laquer-finished F-5L/Fern is a recreation of the Post-Loar era mandolins.
That is it in a nutshell.

kudzugypsy
Apr-07-2005, 12:14pm
[QUOTE]Are the differences between the MM and F5L basically the use of hide glue and a varnish finish?

thats what gibson says....with the VERY important difference IMO of the red spruce top.
i think charlie & big joe have stated on here that they are both based on the same specs.

GTison
Apr-08-2005, 10:08am
And I would add that the proper term for your model of mandolin is a "Fern" not an "F5L". to distinguish it from the previous version of Laquer finished, modern glued, sitka spruce topped mandolins. also the pre-Nashville F5L had the Mortise and tennon so called 'bolt-on' neck which many feel was not to Loar specs. The F models currently all are carved to the same specifications. But the "small" differences seem to make a big difference as Kudzugypsy said. I own a 02 Fern.

Big Joe
Apr-11-2005, 1:50pm