PDA

View Full Version : "Session" question

mtm
Feb-13-2015, 5:31pm
I'll start with the question, and then give the backstory for those who like that kind of thing.

Question: What do you do at a session when you are the weak link, and one or more players don't bother to give you any help (e.g., the chords)? I'm am not remotely skilled enough to pick up on the chords, even if I know the song.

Backstory: As many of you have advised, sessions are a great way for a novice to improve one's skills. I met a young guy at work who plays the banjo (hey, he's still a nice guy) and he invited me to a 'session' he runs, knowing full well that I'm a beginner. Fortunately, the foul Wisconsin weather resulted in a low turnout of just him on banjo, three guitar players (one quite skilled, two average IMHO), and me. They went around and each person picked a song, and they played it; they've been doing this a while so they know the songs. The banjo player took the time to tell me what the chords were, and mercifully started with some pretty simple songs. The skilled guitarist also ran through the chords for me but got into some more complicated, and fast, tunes, but I held on well enough. One of the other guitarists just started playing, which was a problem for me. Some of the time, the banjo player verbally "fed" me the chords during the tune, which was quite helpful and appreciated, but other times I was just left sitting there doing nothing ... Yes, I could have asked that he run the chords by me, but I don't know them and it was my first time, so I didn't ...

They were all nice guys, I had a blast, and they welcomed me back next week, but I'm wondering what to do when I'm left with nothing to go on. And, should it be a bigger group, it might be more of a problem.

The insight of Cafe' members is always appreciated...

Fred Keller
Feb-13-2015, 5:36pm