PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good mandolin for the price?

Peachy Fingers
Feb-12-2015, 8:28pm
Hello, I am brand spankin new to this forum and want to borrow your eyes for a spell. I started playing mandolin about 15 years ago when someone gave me a cheap A. After a few years I gave it to someone else who was in need of one and haven't played since. I am starting to pine for the pickin and will be moving to Georgia next month, so I think there will be opportunities to get involved in jams (much more so than southern California). Anyhoo, I have $800 budgeted for a new mandolin and came across this Michael Kelly. It sure is pretty but I don't know much about the brand/quality. I have fat fingers, so a wide neck would be preferable. Please let me know your thoughts on this and I would kindly take your suggestions.

http://www.folkmusician.com/Michael-Kelly-Legacy-Dragonfly-Flame-Mandolin/productinfo/MKLDFAW/

Charles E.
Feb-12-2015, 8:40pm
For your price range you could get a mandolin from Kentucky, The Loar or Eastman. Each of these would be better then the mandolin you are looking at. Take a look at the classifieds here on the Cafe for used mandolins and look at dealers with good feedback.

Charles E.
Feb-12-2015, 8:54pm
Here is a perfect example of the classifieds in your price range.......

http://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/83667 NFI

Peachy Fingers
Feb-12-2015, 9:45pm
Thank you Charles, I was considering Kentucky as well and have always known them to make mandolins of high regard. Can you tell me what you like about Eastman and The Loar, and recommend any specific models that might suit my big fingers?

crisscross
Feb-12-2015, 10:23pm
If you can find a used Breedlove OF in your price range, that one will suit your fingers. But I think, it is more a matter of getting used to the limited space on a mandolin fretboard and less a matter of finger size.

Peachy Fingers
Feb-12-2015, 10:47pm