PDA

View Full Version : mandolin dealer choices

JPS1919A2
Feb-08-2015, 4:51pm
hello, to all just a few questions concerning your experiences with certain instrument dealers, looking to buy a new mandolin and was checking out fiddlers green and mandoshop in florida, are there vast differences in customer service, set ups, prices. just overall satisfaction . dont want any drama if i do buy and i dont like it. thank you all.:mandosmiley:

rfloyd
Feb-08-2015, 5:15pm
I have made two very satisfactory purchases from Folkmusician.com. Robert was great to deal with, is a Cafe' sponsor, and frequently makes useful comments in this forum.

I have no experience with other dealers, but I know many here have, and I'm sure they will weigh in here. I have no financial interest in recommending Folkmusician, BTW.

Set up is the key, IMO. It is easy to compare prices, but thoroughness and quality of set up is more variable, and subjective.

Chuck Hooper
Feb-08-2015, 6:27pm
i have recently purchased an eastman 505 from folkmusician and got great before sale and after sale /in transite help.i have also purchased a loar ms 600 again great help and a good set up...."full disclosure"...im am not an employee of either establishment nor am i related to (so far as i know to any employee at either place and i am not a paid professional spokesman and no lawyers were injured /hurt during the writing of this reply.

Chuck Hooper
Feb-08-2015, 6:28pm
ooops i forgot to mention the store where i purchased the loar...the guitar center.

dcoventry
Feb-08-2015, 6:34pm
I believe folkmusician.com let's you try for two weeks, which I think is great as 48-72 hours is pretty short for good try out especially on young instruments.

Mike Arakelian
Feb-08-2015, 6:59pm