PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin on sound quality merits only

Fishsticks
Feb-04-2015, 12:24pm
I'm a novice player looking to step up from a Harmony Marquis to a better sounding mandolin. I know there are lots of cost drivers including the craftsmanship of the scroll, collector value and so on, but if you were to factor out all of the non-sound quality factors, and just wanted to look for rich crisp tone quality, in your experience, what are some makes that wowed you for the sound alone. My current aspirations are to play for younger kids (who don't care how bad I am) at home and church. As I improve, I would like to join the music team at church to add some depth and a little country flair to a traditional worship team and perhaps get involved with some of the local bluegrass, square dance groups. My current budget would be around $500, but if the consensus said there was something really worth stretching for in the $1000+ plus range, I'd be willing to save for a while longer. I know you really have to play the individual instrument, but I was hoping your advice could narrow my search. I expect my criteria will steer toward an A model, still not sure on oval vs. f-hole. Thank you all.

lflngpicker
Feb-04-2015, 12:29pm
Check out Kyle Dune at the Mando Shop's J Bovier A5 Special -- radiused fretboard for playability and tone for days. I love mine. Out the door with hardshell case for mid- $700's.

Marvino
Feb-04-2015, 12:36pm
Check out Kentucky 505.
Several years ago had around $1200 to spend on a mandolin. Went to Harry & Jeanie West music store, which had a huge selection. Played about 10 + mandolins, walked out the door with the Kentucky, spending about $500.

Folkmusician.com
Feb-04-2015, 1:31pm
My picks for the best sounding mandolin/best values:

Kentucky KM-150 - yep, it sounds good despite the price
Kentucky KM-505
Eastman MD305
The Loar LM-400

Going up toward $1000, you won't get much better than these until you hit the KM-900.