PDA

View Full Version : wondering about getting an upgrade

kara&magnolia
Jan-16-2015, 8:29pm
hi everyone! I'm brand new to MC, but I've been playing my Magnolia for about 3 years. mostly I've used it to strum along like a guitar (I'm a disgrace, I know), but I've been settling into some picking, some theory learning, and some bluegrass skills more recently.

in about a year, I'm going to be graduating from college and I want to get myself the gift of a superior mandolin. the job is pretty easy to do, as I currently have an Ibanez M510. I'm giving myself a budget of $1000-1500. I love bluegrass music and I have a decent case of scroll-envy, so I'm looking more towards the F-styles.

I know it's early and I have a ton of time to pick something and try things out, but I was hoping y'all might be able to give me some guidance. for that price range and my interests and abilities, what kinds of instruments would you recommend? when I'm in a shop to try things out, where should I start?

pheffernan
Jan-16-2015, 8:37pm
If you're looking for a bluegrass f-style in the $100-1500 range, I'd be thinking of a Kentucky KM1000 or KM1050 for starters.

crisscross
Jan-17-2015, 2:37am
You may discuss wether it has a real scroll or just a poor imitation, that doesn't really serve as a strap holder, but I like my Breedlove FF. http://www.themandolinstore.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=9596

darylcrisp
Jan-17-2015, 7:53am
buy used, and something like this is excellent imo:'

http://www.themandolinstore.com/scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=9984

log on to gregboyd.com and check out the video(they have excellent video's of a lot of mandolins-you can find an example of this one there)

d

J.Albert
Jan-18-2015, 7:27pm
$1,500 range might get you a used Kentucky KM-1500. But you'll have to have patience and keep your eye out.

If you're willing to settle for a lowly A-model, you might put in a couple hundred more for a used Collings MT...

Chuck Hooper
Jan-18-2015, 7:55pm