PDA

View Full Version : Eastman MD 315 vs Morgan Monroe MDM-1

Jmac25
Dec-28-2014, 2:02pm
Hello all, 100% newbie here. I am looking to purchase my first mandolin. I have played my nephew's Kentucky K-150, so I can play a little. Looking for something a step up up from that. I play bluegrass and church music. I am trying to stay in the $600- $700 range. I have it narrowed down, although haven't been able to do a side by side comparison, to the Eastman MD 315 or the Morgan Monroe MDM-1. I do like the F style, just hope I don't lose out on a little bit of quality for the F style. I would greatly appreciate any input you would have, even if you think there is another mandolin I should be looking at. Thank you in advance.

RayMan7
Dec-28-2014, 2:18pm
If it was me I would go with the Eastman MD-313, or even a MD-515 if you look around for a used one. I havent had experience with a Morgan Monroe but I do know Eastmans generally have a good reputation, from their cheaper models to the expensive ones. I have a MD-515 that I got for $600 and it was definitely well worth it, it sounds great and it has good detail. I was looking at other mandos (The Loar etc) in the same price range but the Eastman always seemed to sound the best, and had higher detail especially in places like under the fretboard extension and in the scroll, so that just shows more work went into it.
The new MDM-1 does actually look pretty decent, nice pickguard, cast tailpiece, radiused fretboard, nicely flamed maple back. So with either choice Im sure you`ll have a nice mandolin.

Northwest Steve
Jan-01-2015, 10:51am