PDA

View Full Version : Need advice...help!!

LanaMarie
Nov-22-2014, 9:26am
I want to buy my son his first mandolin for Christmas but don't know where to start. He is a self-taught guitar player and would like to give the mandolin a try. Should I go with A style or F style? What brand? Anything else I should look for? I don't want to spend a huge amount of money just in case he doesn't play it much, but don't want a piece of junk either. I'm okay with buying used.

multidon
Nov-22-2014, 9:35am
F styles are much more expensive than a styles so stick with a to save money. Look for all solid carved wood construction and a proper professional set up. It is really hard to go wrong with the favorite beginners instrument around here, the Kentucky KM 150. It is easy to buy junk in its price range but this one is the real deal. Buy from a dealer that sets up for best playability. Elderly Instruments puts together a package with the set up KM 150, a case, a book, and all the accessories you need for 299. Very hard to beat. NFI. I think they might have a 10 percent off special on those right now. Not sure if it's still valid.

Just checked my e mail. The 10 percent off beginners package at Elderly is good from November 28 through Dec. 1st. Black Friday Special. At 270 that package is impossible to beat.

Randi Gormley
Nov-22-2014, 9:40am
So cool. a lot of us are self-taught as well.
Is there a particular type of music he plans to play? he might have some ideas about the style of instrument he would prefer.
The general advice is that you get more bang for your buck with an A style and used (from a reputable source) is perfectly fine and also a money saver. That being said, you can get a nice package from some of our sponsors -- a carved-wood instrument, gig bag, strings with a set-up for an amount that won't break the bank. Give them a call (you can find their contact information on the top of the site) and ask them for help. they're good people.