PDA

View Full Version : National RM-1 bridge problem

Jim Garber
Nov-12-2014, 12:23pm
I started playing my RM-1 at a couple of OT jams and it was going well. Lots of volume -- I can finally hear myself.

Then, last night, halfway thru the jam, the E-strings suddenly came out of their grooves. I replaced them but from then on if I played the E-strings they popped out. Obviously the strings must have worn the edges off the grooves. I tried to not hit those strings too hard but it happened anyway.

The big problem is that National built these with a cover over the bridge and it looks like it is riveted on on mine. It looks like I would need to take off the strings and the cover plate in order to get to the bridge.

Has anyone had this problem and/or worked on these new Nationals? All suggestions would be appreciated.

Shelagh Moore
Nov-12-2014, 12:34pm
They are not rivets fixing the cover to the plate but small Allen bolts. If my memory serves me, the Allen key size is around 1.2mm. In any case, I have removed the cover and worked on the bridge on my RM-1.

Jim Garber
Nov-12-2014, 1:30pm
Richard: thanks a lot. My eyes are not so young... of course, it would make a lot more sense to have that art removable.

Did you have a similar problem? From what I can see the angle of the E-string from the tailpiece when looking down (not sideways view) looks sharpest on the outside strings and I figure that the top of the slot may have lost its edge somehow.

Aha, I even have a set of metric and SAE Allen wrenches I bought some time ago from Radio Shack. Excellent. Now I just have to not mess up the bridge.

Ray(T)
Nov-12-2014, 3:31pm
Yes, they are allen bolts but I've never needed to take mine off. The problem with working on the saddle is probably going to be that you could end up with it too low. I'd be interested to know whether the saddle and biscuit are in one or two pieces and whether the biscuit is glued onto the cone.