PDA

View Full Version : I've got the octave mandolin blues :(

the_polish_mandolinist
Oct-14-2014, 10:01am
So here's the deal.. I absolutely need an octave mandolin, I've fallen in love with the sound. I've never played one, I can only watch youtube videos and dream:)). The Webers sound the best.. but I am a student working my way through University so it's pretty much out of my price range, even the A-style gallatin which I think is around $2,900. I would rather not get a 'budget' style like the trinity church, because from what I have heard I don't like the tone.

Do I have any other options? It would need to have f-holes for that punch, A-style and no frills (to save cash), but well-built. I am keeping an eye out on my local classifieds, but I have the better chance of being struck by lightning since I live in Ontario, Canada. The mandolin choices are real slim up here!:crying:

Are there any other makers other than Weber that make a great sounding A-style f-hole octave mandolin?

bigskygirl
Oct-14-2014, 10:31am
Look for a local luthier who can build you one and might be able to come in at the price point you are looking for. A carved top with f holes will add to the final cost. I was talking with a luthier friend of mine a few months ago and he built three that are in the finishing stages now and I'll get to choose which I want. Koa/spruce, black walnut/redwood, and black walnut/spruce. Asthetically the Koa wins and they all sound great, I am leaning towards the walnut/spruce but well see how they are after they are all finished.

They are standard oval holes but they sound great and have satisfied my MAS for an octave. Here's a link to Don Kawalak and the kits he makes he's on this forum as well.

http://donkawalek.com/pages/kits.php

multidon
Oct-14-2014, 10:50am