PDA

View Full Version : David Grisman's Dawg pick

darrylicshon
Sep-06-2014, 8:20pm
I work as a stagehand and guitar tech and i have been cleaning up and i found a old box of picks from shows and i found a Dawg pick from David Grisman concert , i have heard good and bad things about them so i have been using it the past few days it seems ok but not what i am used to. I use a dunlop delrin .96 the Dawg isnt as bright as the dunlop i keep going back to my dunlop.

What i wanted to know is everyones opinion about the Dawg picks.

I am still going to use the Dawg got to give it time maybe i will become use to it , no matter what i am going to keep it cause David Grisman used it.

mandobassman
Sep-06-2014, 9:01pm
Wondering which Dawg pick you're referring to. The original Dawg was more rounded and I never liked it at all. Could never get a decent tone from it. The newer version has more of a "point", although it is still very rounded compared to most picks. I like the tone much better than the original, but still can't use it because I could never get any volume and felt as though I had to push the instrument really hard to get any volume. Not a big deal when you're picking by yourself, but much more difficult when playing live with a band.

Mark Christensen
Sep-06-2014, 9:30pm
I bought a set of the original Dawg picks when they first came out (12 I think), never really liked the tone until I got my file out and some sand paper and added a bevel and point to one corner. Really brings out some volume and brightness when you do this and since the modification I use the Dawg picks often. They work well and last a long time, I still have at least 10 of these in my pick container unused. The same applies to the Golden Gate pick.

darrylicshon
Sep-06-2014, 9:38pm
It is an older Dawg pick

Ultra Turtle
Sep-06-2014, 10:07pm
I've been looking for one of the multicolor, or "clownbarf" Dawg picks.

OldSausage
Sep-06-2014, 10:48pm