PDA

View Full Version : Golden Gate Tuners

Scotti Adams
Feb-29-2004, 11:04am
..any comments? comparisons?

J. Mark Lane
Feb-29-2004, 6:53pm
Maybe everyone is wondering the same thing I am. What the heck are Golden Gate tuners?

John Flynn
Feb-29-2004, 7:03pm
J. Mark:

Golden Gate, the the people who make the picks by the same name, also make replacement tuners. I have no experience with them, but I have seen listings for them.

Scotti Adams
Feb-29-2004, 7:25pm
..yea..Saga carries them....they are more costly than the Grovers and Schallers and they have the removable buttons..they are a good lookin tuner..http://www.sagamusic.com/catalog/details.asp?ProductID=FM-20

sunburst
Feb-29-2004, 7:31pm
Just looked at the pic. They look a lot like Gotoh. Wonder if that's who makes them?

J. Mark Lane
Feb-29-2004, 7:45pm
I see. Yeah, they sure look like Gotohs, don't they? I can't imagine Golden Gate is tooled up to make their own tuners. There's also a strange variation in cost among the different model numbers.

Scotti Adams
Feb-29-2004, 8:00pm
..yea but they dont say what the ratio is...

Darryl Wolfe
Mar-01-2004, 2:26pm
They're Gotoh's...they used to offer a silver plated version. These were the first reasonable reverse cut/worm under tuner that didn't turn backward.

You can do some light machine work on the string posts and grind an "arrow end" on the plates..replace a few "phillips" screws here and there with straight/flat ones and make a very respectable Loar knock-off tuner for far less than a Waverly

Scotti Adams
Mar-01-2004, 3:19pm
..thanks alot for the info....since they are Gotohs I think I will be getting them from Stew Mac..alot cheaper....I thought they may be Gotohs..they sure looked the same...

Big Joe
Mar-01-2004, 3:59pm
Hey Scotti! Our new Grovers will be ready in a couple of weeks. 18:1 ratio. I love the ones on my mandolin.

Scotti Adams
Mar-01-2004, 6:25pm