PDA

View Full Version : another newbie..

Nick Eanet
Jun-26-2014, 7:46pm
Hello all,

I'm a professional classical violinist, and have always secretly wanted to play the guitar. I picked up a little Martin but having prefect pitch made me extremely frustrated trying to learn some chords. When I realized not long ago that a mandolin is tuned like a violin, I thought I could play some rep I know, like some of the Bach sonatas and partitas. I decided a few months back to youtube some mandolinists playing Bach and found Chris Thile. I stayed up all night listening to everything I could find, branched out to Mike Marshall, and then to more standard bluegrass players. I was living in NYC at the time and went straight on over to Mandolin Brothers. I tried everything they had, except for the '24 Loar. I bought a Collings MT. I love the sound and have been obsessed learning to play all types of music. I found this site not long after and have been a daily lurker. I'm down in central FL for a bit and a few weeks back I bought a '23 A2 snakehead that needed some work and had it fixed up at the Guitar Factory in Orlando. I picked it up today and am blown away at the difference in sound from the Collings. I bought all types of picks and have found the general shape and thickness that I like. I am playing hours every day and am definitely completely obsessed. Formally joining this forum seems like the most natural step right now. I read all the threads already but it is now time to participate and enjoy getting to know some good people around here. Thanks for letting me lurk around these past few months....

Mike Steadfast-Ward
Jun-26-2014, 7:59pm
Welcome to the Cafe Nick.

F-2 Dave
Jun-26-2014, 10:19pm
Wow, a Collings MT, and '23 snakehead is a great way to get started. Welcome to you. Pull up a chair and make yourself at home.

Nick Eanet
Jun-26-2014, 11:15pm