PDA

View Full Version : Which mando for old time?

generankin
Mar-08-2005, 5:44pm
I am a beginner on mando (played guitar for a long time), and have me an Eastman F-style which is allowing me to learn fairly rapidly. #I want to play both bluegrass (not newgrass) and old time. #I do not now jam with any old time types, but I hear tell that bluegrass-oriented mandos do not fit well sonically.

I also hear that Phoenix mandos have a mellower sound than the average bluegrass-oriented instrument (not to mention a range of voicings that might be more suitable), and my guess is that they might bridge that gap. #Anyone know for sure?

I accept that I've got a long way to go with my Eastman, and that I'd be foolish to buy an instrument I had not played, but you know about curiosity ...

fatt-dad
Mar-08-2005, 6:32pm
I enjoy playing old-time music with most any mandolin, but that said, the oval hole mandolins are great. You would do just fine with an older Gibson A, a Flatiron "pancake" or one of the newer lines with the oval hole, x-braced design. If you are looking at the custom-made instruments, consider the Old Wave oval hole a-model. While I have not played one, I am under the impression that they are designed in the vein of the earlier Gibsons and have the tone.

Good luck,

fatt-dad

mingusb1
Mar-09-2005, 3:36pm
I have a sweet newer A-style with F-holes (bought from a cafe member) that I think sounds very good for oldtime. #It rings out well on open chords and is nice and warm when picking individual notes/melodies. #

So, I think woods/construction/age might have as much to do with an oldtimey sound as oval-hole vs. F-holes or A-style vs. F-style.

The mando player for Foghorn Stringband plays a newer F-style with F-holes. #For all intents a "bluegrass" instrument, if you will. #But he makes it sound great for oldtime.

Z

JGWoods
Mar-15-2005, 9:19pm