PDA

View Full Version : 1911 Gibson A4 - What Kind of Condition is it in?

a.lehofer
Apr-05-2014, 11:15am
Hi all, this is my first time posting on these forums! I've had a mandolin in my family for three generations and had kind of forgotten about it until last week when I was doing some spring cleaning. I knew that it was quite old, but I decided to do some research to see if I could find when it was actually made. This turned out to be rather easy as the serial number was written inside. Anyways, turns out what I've got is a 1911 Gibson A4 mandolin.
I am wondering what kind of condition it is in. I've played it before and it still sounds GREAT (something that I was told by my instructor; I had, and still have, very little knowledge of what a good mandolin sounds like). Also, it seems to me that all of the pieces are original with the exception of one row of tuning pegs. There are some minor scratches and the original finish on the neck seems to have faded in places, but otherwise it seems to be in good condition.
Judging by these pictures, is the instrument worth anything? I realize that I should probably have it appraised, but I figured I'd ask a few different people and try the interwebs too. The thing has been collecting dust (not literally, as it's been in a case) for years and I have no real reason to hang on to it.

Jim
Apr-05-2014, 11:30am
Not a real expert on these ,but $1000 to $1500 or less seems to be about what these go for ,the replaced tuner will lower value some and I don't think it's as old as 1911 because it has a truss rod. The experts here can let you know a better date and price range.

lenf12
Apr-06-2014, 10:09am