PDA

View Full Version : Red-Eye Twin Routing

John Flynn
Mar-28-2014, 5:55am
I've noticed there are some long term Red-Eye users and some real sound reinforcement exerts here. I just got my Red-Eye Twin and it sounds great. I have a couple of questions I would appreciate advice on. Let me say that I am no sound expert and I may misuse some of the terms.

First, I found that when I went into my Crate CA-30 (the older model) using the Red-Eye XLR output through an XLR cable with a low-to-high impedance transformer at the end, the resulting volume was about 50% louder than going through the effects out with a 1/4" cable with the same Red-Eye and amp settings. Is that because XLR is that much more efficient, even with the transformer, or is it that the Red-Eye XLR out is a hotter signal?

Second, I play every week with a large church choir. I have to go into the sound board through a remote junction box (my term) that only has 1/4" plugs. I use the Crate amp as a personal monitor just so I can hear myself because it's a big group. So I can see two ways to do my cable routings:

Red-Eye XLR out >>>Lo-to-High Transformer>>>Crate>>>Crate Line Out>>>Junction Box

OR...

Red-Eye XLR out >>>Lo-to-High Transformer>>>Junction Box
Plus
Red-Eye effects out>>>1/4" cable>>>Crate amp

So this is my big question: Would running the Fire-Eye signal through the Crate degrade the sound quality that gets to the board? The first option gives me some more EQ control and is more convenient, but I don't want to do it if it going to "dumb-down" the great sound coming out of the Red-Eye that gets to the board.

Chunky But Funky
Mar-28-2014, 10:59am
Hi John,