PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Mandolas and Octaves

rps2rduc
Mar-27-2014, 7:14am
Hello All,
I'm a total newbie to the mando family of instruments and I'm hoping some of you fine folks will share advice/comments about mandolas and octave mandos. I'm a guitar player but would like to add a mando family member. After tinkering with a pretty decent loaner Kentucky A mandolin for a spell I 'think' I would prefer a mandola or octave over a mando for a number of reasons. But man, those instruments are hard to come by. Seems they are quite scarce when compared to the mandolin.

I've had extremely limited opportunity to play either. A local dealer here did have a Weber Octave here quite awhile back that I plinked around on and about all I remember is the scale length on that one was uncomfortably long for me. I'm guessing it was the 22" scale... so that has me wondering about octaves I see with 20" scale and mandolas.

I'm guessing there are many reasons for the relative scarcity of the larger mando siblings, but I'm most concerned about playability on the octave, and possible transposition issues on the mandola. Also curious what you all might have to say regarding application in a group setting.

Thanks in advance for any and all comment.

Ross

Bertram Henze
Mar-27-2014, 7:46am
Playability: up to 22" there is no problem that can't be bypassed. Of course, you can't do exactly the same patterns as on a mandolin, but you can do other things, supported by the fact that the larger instruments have a longer sustain. I play 21" but most of what I do (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySu3nSMRhy0) would go with 22" as well.

Group setting: the Octave shares a register with the guitar and can do much of what the guitar does in a group, e.g. it can be played finger-style for song accompaniment (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5JbvfFIL4s).

rps2rduc
Mar-27-2014, 8:19am
Thanks Bertram,