PDA

View Full Version : I've never felt this way before...

tangleweeds
Mar-15-2014, 12:48pm
I started learning to play music about 10 years ago, as part of a most fruitful midlife crisis. I began with tin whistle, then resumed piano (I'd had a year of awful lessons as a kid), and also discovered that I really enjoyed studying music theory (once upon a time I was a math-y geek, and theory scratches the same itch).

Along the way, back in 2010 I had joined this forum and picked up a pair of mandolins, a Trinity College octave and a Kentucky KM-172, but once I found a good teacher my music lessons curse struck again (starting lessons always kills my enjoyment of whatever instrument I've been studying, turning it into work not play). So the mandolins ended up under my bed, serving as ramparts of last resort for cats fighting off medications or the carrier/vet, and I ruefully sighed over the money spent.

Flash forward to Jan 2014. A friend was suffering momentary aphasia, and the totally incorrect word that kept springing to her mind was "mandolin." Somehow that spurred me to pull the mandolins out from under the bed later that evening, and tune them up. I vaguely remembered FFCP and movable scales 2010, so I spent some enjoyable evenings re-inventing the wheel.

The strange thing is that everything seemed to come to me so naturally, almost as though I had musical talent. This was not an experience I'd ever had before; not having had much musical exposure as a kid, I had always felt like an awkward imposter whenever I was learning a new musical instrument.

I think that part of the magic was those few months of playing four years ago. Though my conscious mind had forgotten just about everything, and it felt like I was starting from zero, the things I was learning coalesced way more swiftly and comfortably than I'd ever experienced before in my musical explorations.