PDA

View Full Version : 2 point mandolins-a few questions

darylcrisp
Mar-01-2014, 12:30pm
okay, so I'm really new to all this mandolin world, but I find the artistry and depth to be fascinating. Coming to this at an older age than many, my time is limited. As such, I'm looking for more than just tone. I want ease of playability first, then the sound is next, and third is how it looks. But I am highly influenced at this stage of my life by aesthetics. Not so much as in bling, but beauty born of an organic nature.

On to my question that's probably been asked a thousand times on this forum.

I am drawn to two point designs. I've never held one so I've never played one. Have not yet found a soundclip(someone direct me if you know where some are).
I have saw a few two point mandolins for sale in the classifieds and they always stop me. I always check them out, go further and try to dig thru the computer world of links that I find.
As of recent findings, the two that really impress my eyes are:
Clark two point mandolins
Weber Big Horn

Is there any tonal quality that is enhanced by a two point design or is it merely an artistic quality?
If its only artistic, then is the two point more associated with an A shape?

Is there a nice book out there that shows/discusses the development and history of the mandolin that any of you recommend?

thanks as always
d

sunburst
Mar-01-2014, 12:44pm